The Corporate Slave

Life is a journey. Come and join me as i spend moments with interesting people, visit astounding places, attend meaningful events, or just pondering things out.

Land of the Rising Sun

My flight to Osaka last October 16 was nearly cancelled due to typhoon Sarika (locally named Karen).  It was moved five hours later instead.  Maybe I should at least be thankful of that.  Good thing the announcement came in the night before and glad that I didn’t have to brave the typhoon in going to NAIA terminal 1.  The change in schedule had made me arrive at Kansai International Airport around 5PM and eventually Kyoto City few minutes to eight.  My planned activities for the rest of the day were all cancelled.

image018

The majestic Osaka Castle

Around same time many years ago when I first set foot in The Land of the Rising Sun.  Many memories started to play in my mind.  It may sound cheesy but I got so emotional off boarding the plane, on my way to immigration, and at the train station.

image004

Higashi Honganji in Kyoto

Japan is a significant place for me.  It was the destination on my very first out-of-country travel and my first glimpse of life in a developed country. I learned a lot of things in Japan and discipline is just one of them. In Japan I learned to be independent and recognized the value of hard work.

image014

Chion-in Temple in Kyoto

It was also in Japan when I first stumbled in life.  A disappointment, a failure that made me erode as a person.  It was painful, very painful indeed. But I can say that pain was a necessary experience.  A bitter medicine capable of delivering wondrous recovery.

image008

Path leading to Hozanji temple in Nara

I did not visit Japan for decades after that experience.  I ran away from her, determined not to return, afraid that it will open old wounds.   Until I reached my golden years that I realized… I need to face her and put closure on that chapter of my journey.  It is an unfinished business.  I must not run from it forever.  All wounds should heal.  I must accept and embrace it, Japan still lives in my heart and could be that a piece of me still lives in Japan.

image006

The largest wooden building in the world. Todaiji temple in Nara.

Thank you Japan for giving me that second chance.  An opportunity to recollect myself and continue my life’s journey.  The multiple entry visa is a sign; typhoon Karen was a hindrance.  Nothing can stop me this time.  My second entry was in Osaka, Kyoto, and Nara.

image012

Yasaka Jinja in Kitagawa-ku, Kyoto

This March will be Hiroshima, Iwakuni, Miyajima, Himeji, Kobe and Koyasan.  Next could be Hokkaido and Sapporo or maybe Nagoya or even Fukuoka. I intend to close this chapter by returning to where it all began, Tokyo.

See you again this March,  Japan.  Matta Aimashou.

5 comments on “Land of the Rising Sun

  1. Evangelina07
    February 6, 2017

    Lovely.
    I was there last year and need to go back as well. Just not enough time to see everything I wanted to see.
    Thanks for bringing nice memories back. I have to write about my trip as well.

  2. mairekarabel
    April 18, 2017

    I never had the courage to ask you about your ‘demons’. This has always been my way of respecting your privacy, which you’ve always been so protective of. Thank you for posting this. You know I’m just here and can be with you in your journey, even if we’re ‘banks’ apart. Miss you, Papa Rodg! – maire

    • thecorpslave
      April 19, 2017

      Thanks Mai. You’ve been part of my journey all these years and will continue to be such till the end.

  3. Becca Tan
    April 20, 2017

    Wonderful write up!
    I wish I had your travelling experiences or could join you sana…. hahahaha! You’re the Best! So So Envious of you! ☺️

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2017 by and tagged , , , .
